Book Review Trials by Faith Hunter

Title: Trials
Editor: Faith Hunter
Genre: Urban Fantasy
Age Group: Adult
Rating: 4 stars
Purchase: Amazon
Review copy provided by Enchanted Book Promotions in exchange for an honest review.

21 Vignettes and Short Stories set in Faith Hunter’s World of Thorn St. Croix.

The Rogue Mage world began long ago, when the epic battle between the High Host and the Darkness was won and lost. TRIALS takes fans of Thorn St. Croix into the past, before the opening pages of BLOODRING. These stories, set in Faith Hunter’s Rogue Mage world, are adventures with new characters and old, facing dangers unimaginable. And they must save the world all over again.

If you ever wondered what happened between seraphs, kylen, second-unforeseen, mages, seraph-touched, spawn, humans, dragons, and their creatures before the series, now is your chance to delve deeper and wider. TRIALS features new short stories from nine authors—including Faith Hunter—and vignettes from the Rogue Mage role playing game.

TRIALS will be followed soon by TRIBULATIONS, and then by the omnibus TRIUMPHANT.

TRIALS Authors: Faith Hunter, Misty Massey, Lou J Berger, Ken Schrader, Spike Y Jones, Diana Pharaoh Francis, Christina Stiles, Tamsin Silver, Melissa McArthur.

TRIBULATIONS Authors: Faith Hunter, Jean Rabe, Spike Y Jones, Christina Stiles, and Lucienne Diver.

Trials is an anthology of stories set in the universe of the Rogue Mage world. Rogue Mage is a book series written by Faith Hunter. It has three books, and a roleplaying game, and now these anthologies.

The stories in this anthology are set in the same universe, but take place before the first book in the Rogue Mage series. The anthology includes stories from nine authors and several vignettes. Despite being new to the Rogue Mage series,  I enjoyed getting to know this universe, the author’s diverse writing styles, the interesting characters and creatures that appeared in the stories, and the background and history of this world.

The stories were well written, entertaining and original. I look forward to picking up the Rogue Mage series when I have some time.

Speak Your Mind