Book Review: Fanatics by Richard Hilary Weber

Fanatics_WeberTitle: Fanatics (A Brooklyn Crimes Novel)

Author: Richard Hilary Weber

Genre: Mystery / Thriller

Age Group: Adult (18+)

Rating: 4 stars

Purchase: Amazon

Review copy provided by Enchanted Book Promotions in exchange for an honest review.

For fans of Kathy Reichs and Linda Fairstein, Richard Hilary Weber’s new Brooklyn Crimes Novel follows police detective Flo Ott as she crisscrosses the borough’s mean streets and lands in the crosshairs of a highly skilled assassin.

NYPD detective Flo Ott has rotten luck. First she’s put on bodyguard duty for U.S. Senator-elect Cecil King after a ultra-right-wing terror cell announces plans to assassinate him. Then she’s saddled with investigating the homicide of a hip-hop mogul. Ballz Busta was fatally rapped on his head outside his mistress’s Park Slope condo. The two jobs couldn’t be more different. Finding Busta’s killer takes Flo into the outrageous livin’ large margins of the Brooklyn music scene. Keeping Senator-elect King alive requires constant vigilance as well-trained assassins could strike anytime, anywhere. It’s only when these cases explosively collide that Flo realizes she’s finally caught a break.

What she doesn’t know is that she’s lit a fanatic’s fuse and now he has a new target: the woman cop with the nerve to try and stop his murderous schemes.

In Fanatics, NYPD detective Flo Ott has to play bodyguard for U.S. Senator Cecil King, after a terrorist cell declared their intention of murdering him. Like that’s not bad luck enough, she also has to investigate the homicide of a hip-hopper who was sort of a celebrity but managed to lead a double life of sorts. With two jobs so outrageously different, Flo struggles to balance both of them. But when both cases connect, she learns things she never thought possible… Unfortunately, Flo has garnered the attention of a fanatic, who will stop at nothing to destroy her.

I was completely absorbed the moment I started reading. The pacing is really fast, and the book just flies by. Flo is an interesting character, and she can definitely stand her own. Too bad she never catches a break, though. I felt sorry for her when tumbled from one problem into the next.

Would recommend to thrillers fans, has a few surprising twists and is well-written.

Speak Your Mind

*