Book Review: Tribulations by Faith Hunter

Title: Tribulations Editor: Faith Hunter Genre: Urban Fantasy Age Group: Adult Rating: 4,5 stars Purchase: Amazon Review copy provided by Enchanted Book Promotions in exchange for an honest review. 17 Vignettes and Short Stories set in Faith Hunter’s World of Thorn St. Croix The Rogue Mage story began with the post-apocalyptic novels BLOODRING, SERAPHS, and […]

Book Review: Suspended in Dusk by Simon Dewar

Title: Suspended in Dusk Author: Simon Dewar (Editor) Genre: Horror, Anthology, Dark Fiction Age Group: Adult Rating: 4 stars Purchase: Amazon Review copy provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review. DUSK A time between times. A whore hides something monstrous and finds something special. A homeless man discovers the razor blade inside […]

Book Review: Mysticism & Myths

Title: Mysticism & Myths Genre: Paranormal Collection (Sampler) Rating: 4 stars Purchase: Amazon Review copy provided by Enchanted Book Promotions in exchange for an honest review. A MUST READ FOR FANS OF THE MYSTERIOUS WORLDS OF GHOSTS, SEA DWELLERS & SHAPESHIFTERS! Have you ever wondered about different myths of the world? These include the stories […]

Book Review: Evil Imminent by Maryann Weston

Title: Evil Imminent Author: Maryann Weston Genre: Horror / Paranormal Short Story Collection Age Group: Adult Rating: 4 stars Purchase: Amazon Review copy provided by Enchanted Book Promotions in exchange for an honest review. A horror/paranormal anthology that lures, grips and exhilarates, leaving the reader demanding more. ‘Normal’ will never be the same after reading […]

Book Review: DarkFuse #1 by Shane Staley (Editor)

Title: DarkFuse #1 Author: Shane Staley (Editor) Genre: Dark Fiction, Novella, Anthology Age Group: Adult (18+) Rating: 3,5 stars Purchase: Amazon Review copy provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review. Anthology including the following short stories: “She Sleeps in the Depths” by William Meikle “Better Heard and Not Seen” by Michael Penkas […]

Book Review: Talking Walls and Cigarettes (And Other Dark Tales)

Title: Talking Walls and Cigarettes (And Other Dark Tales) Author: Erin Beck & Kelli Beck Genre: Horror, Short Story Anthology Rating: 4,5 stars Purchase: Amazon Review copy provided by Enchanted Book Promotions in exchange for an honest review. Talking Walls and Cigarettes is a collection of seven dark short stories that deals with both real […]

Book Review: The Awakening & Other Stories by Emma Meade

Title: The Awakening & Other Stories Author: Emma Meade Genre: Short Story Collection, Horror Age Group: Adult Rating: 4 stars Purchase: Goodreads, Amazon Put on the kettle, close the curtains and curl up by the fire. Dive into 8 short tales, each with a slice of the paranormal. Ghost Story – Who is the shadow […]

Book Review: Shades: Eight Tales of Terror by D. Nathan Hilliard

Title: Shades: Eight Tales of Terror Author: D. Nathan Hilliard Genre: Ghosts, Horror, Short Story Collection Publisher: Amazon Publication Date: March 18th, 2012 Goodreads | B&N | Amazon (Paperback) | Amazon (Kindle) Review copy provided by the author in exchange for honest review. Here there be ghosts… Within these pages lurks a cast of phantoms […]

Book Review: 13 Horror Stories by John McDonnell

Title: 13 Horror Stories Author: John McDonnell Genre: Short Story Collection, Horror Publisher: Self-Published Publication Date: September 21st 2010 Goodreads | Smashwords | Amazon | B&N 13 bone-chilling stories about ghosts, vengeful lovers, scary mothers, and crazy girlfriends. In these stories time and space are no barrier to some truly horrible happenings. Each story is […]

Book Review: You Shall Never Know Security by J.R. Hamantaschen

You Shall Never Know Security is a horror short story collection by author J.R. Hamantaschen. I’m a big fan of horror novels, as you may or may not know. I’m especially fond of ghosts, but I’ll take anything as long as it gives me chills. Zombies and gore fests aren’t always my preferences, but I enjoy them once in a while. J.R. Hamantaschen’s collection is unique in that it dares to venture outside the box of what’s considered normal and reasonable for the horror genre. It tells us creepy stories about parasites residing in the protagonist’s brain, companies coming up with plans to catch sexual offenders by using androids, people searching for portals to other dimensions, and much more. The collection is very diverse, but one thing remains the same throughout all the stories: they’re scary.