Book Review: Conduits by Jennifer Loring

22744876

Title: Conduits Author: Jennifer Loring Genre: Horror, Supernatural Horror, Novella, Dark Fiction Age Group: Adult Rating: 4 stars Purchase: Amazon Review copy provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review. Mara is a Japanese-American girl with a history of personal tragedy. Though she still cuts herself to quell the pain, she thought the [...]

Book Review: The Whispering Skull (Lockwood & Co #2) by Jonathan Stroud

14059024

Title: The Whispering Skull (Lockwood & Co #2) Author: Jonathan Stroud Genre: Fantasy, Paranormal, Young Adult, Ghosts, Horror Age Group: Young Adult Rating: 5 stars Purchase: Amazon Review copy provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review. In the six months since Anthony, Lucy, and George survived a night in the most haunted [...]

Book Review: Phobic (The Forbidden Doors #1) by Cortney Pearson

22465896

Title: Phobic (The Forbidden Doors #1) Author: Cortney Pearson Genre: Young Adult, Horror, Paranormal Age Group: Young Adult Rating: 3 stars Review copy provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review. Fifteen-year-old Piper Crenshaw knows her house is strange. It’s never needed repairs since it was built in the 1800s, and the lights [...]

Book Review: Bloodeye by Craig Saunders

22677643

Title: Bloodeye Author: Craig Saunders Genre: Dark Fiction, Horror Age Group: Adult Rating: 3,5 stars Purchase: Amazon Review copy provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review. Keane Reid is tired of living. He’s bored with his very existence following the suspicious death of his wife seven years earlier. He’s not interested in [...]

Mini- Review: Fractured Lights, Touch of Power, Enter Night

minireview

Time for some mini-reviews! What are mini-reviews, you ask? As the title suggests, these are short reviews, consisting of one paragraph tops, about a book. It’s a way to catch up on the books I’ve read a while ago, but never got around to reviewing. Fractured Lights Title: Fractured Lights Author: Rachel McClellan Genre: Young [...]

Book Review: MARY: The Summoning (Bloody Mary #1) by Hillary Monahan

17661402

Title: MARY: The Summoning (Bloody Mary #1) Author: Hillary Monahan Genre: Young Adult, Paranormal, Ghosts, Gothic Horror Age Group: Young Adult Rating: 5 stars Purchase: Amazon Review copy provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review. There is a right way and a wrong way to summon her. Jess had done the research. [...]

Book Review: Amity by Micol Ostow

19141361

Title: Amity Author: Micol Ostow Genre: Young Adult, Paranormal, Ghosts, Horror Age Group: Young Adult Rating: 4,5 stars Purchase: Amazon Review copy provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review. For fans of Stephen King and American Horror Story, a gruesome thriller suggested by the events of the Amityville Horror. Connor’s family moves [...]

Book Review: Apartment 7C by David Bernstein

22711407

Title: Apartment 7C Author: David Bernstein Genre: Horror, Novella Age Group: Adult Rating: 3 stars Purchase: Amazon Review copy provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review. Sometimes you just have to take matters into your own hands. Eighty-two-year-old Beth Baker can hear the cop in apartment 7C beating his wife. Again. She’s [...]

Book Review: The Sleeping Dead by Richard Farren Barber

22431321

Title: The Sleeping Dead Author: Richard Farren Barber Genre: Horror Age Group: Adult Rating: 3 stars Purchase: Amazon Review copy provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review. Don’t listen… When Jackson Smith attends an interview to escape his dead-end job, he witnesses a man jumping to his death through an office window. [...]

Book Review: A Beautiful Madness by Lee Thompson

22070587

Title: A Beautiful Madness Author: Lee Thompson Genre: Mystery, Horror Age Group: Adult Rating: 4 stars Purchase: Amazon Review copy provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review. A Texas Senator and his wife go missing… On the same day, their son is slaughtered by an enigmatic killer on the lawn of ex-Governor [...]